ayesha mehdi

ayesha mehdi


Spencer Fane LLP

Las Vegas, NV USA

Life is about accepting challenges and choosing to keep moving on while savoring the journey.


My road in life took a while to figure out.
Got married young, and moved to a new country.
Immediately enrolled in a community college so that there is no delay in my educational journey.
Completed my undergraduate while pregnant with my first. My newborn attended my graduation ceremony.
Started law school and graduate school. Attended my graduation ceremonies with two little ones.
Moved to a new state (NV) and worked towards establishing my husband's practice, as well as my own.
Joined a national law firm as a partner.
Keep following my journey


High School
Bachelor of Business Administration (Finance)
Walsh College of Accountancy and Business
Master of Health Services Administration
University of Kansas School of Medicine
University of Kansas School of Law



I practice corporate and healthcare law.My work is transactional; it involves contracts, deals,and regulatory compliance

Career Roadmap

My work combines:
My work combines:
Learning / Being Challenged

Day to Day

As a transactional attorney, I draft documents, negotiate deals, attend meetings and make calls toward those ends. I am also constantly reviewing documents, doing research, and writing emails. And it's fun (really!) if you are involved in an interesting transaction. I used to have long hours at the office, however, due to the pandemic, I now work from home and appreciate the greater flexibility in my schedule.

Advice for Getting Started

Here's the first step for college students

It depends on what stage in life you are in, but for any stage, I'd recommend finding a mentor in the legal field. If you are interested in law and have an idea of what kind of law you want to practice then do not hesitate to connect with those professionals. See if they can be a mentor, ally, or somebody you can talk to. I personally benefited a lot from my mentor when I was a solo practitioner and needed help.

Recommended Education

My career is related to what I studied. I'd recommend the path I took:

Bachelor of Business Administration (Finance)
Master of Health Services Administration


The Noise I Shed

From Society in General:

" don't think anyone really believed that I would be in a demanding career or thought that it was good for me, either. Some thought that being a good wife and mother or just staying at home might have been better. "

Challenges I Overcame

First-Generation Immigrant


What do you enjoy doing on your free time?

Asked by Anthony at Roadtrip Nation

If I had all the time in the world, I'd love to travel to different countries and just be present without having to think about work, and maybe even write a book. I try to live day by day, just spending time with my family, being happy and healthy.

Interviewed By


at Roadtrip Nation