My road in life has been direct.
I was the daughter of an alcoholic father who unfortunately passed at a young age, which made my life at home really difficult.
I used athletics as a way to escape from the chaos in my house. My athleticism inspired me to start a judo club as an independent contractor.
I went on a ride-along with an LAPD officer, which sparked my interest in law enforcement.
I entered college with an athletic scholarship and majored in criminal justice. The classes I took prepared me for the police academy.
Once I decided to become an LA County sheriff, I had to start in jail as did other people. After the academy, I was assigned to a patrol station.
During those 5 years as a patrol deputy, I became a training officer for the new deputies that came to the station.
After a while, I decided that I wanted to do something different in my career, so I became an undercover detective.
I worked as an undercover detective for 9 years then decided to become a homicide detective for 17 years before retiring. In those 17 years, I had my own accomplishments along the way as well.


Homicide Detective

I am a retired homicide detective who dedicated 33 years of my life in law enforcement.

Career Roadmap

My work combines:
My work combines:
Upholding a Cause and Belief

Day to Day

I often investigated deaths that are suspected to have been caused by a criminal activity.

Advice for Getting Started

Here's the first step for everyone

I recommend taking classes pertaining to the career and being open to other opportunities as they come. It is important to know that we should not let fear stand in our way.

Recommended Education

My career is related to what I studied. I'd recommend the path I took:


The Noise I Shed

From Society in General:

"Because law enforcement was predominantly male, my biggest noise was that I was a woman."

Challenges I Overcame

Physical Issues


What were some obstacles that you had to face?

Asked by Anonymous Student

Being a woman.