Eboney Roney

Eboney Roney

Juvenile Probation Officer


Titus County Juvenile Probation Department

Milestones

Milestones

My road in life has been direct.
Getting pregnant in high school. Missed a lot of school and dropped down a bit but still graduated in the top 10 percent as an Honor Graduate and Texas Scholar.
I went to a private University. It was expensive. My family were not rich. I thought I would have to drop out at one point to find full time employment, But God worked it all out for me.
I struggled with a History class. I should have failed but I was determined and met with the teacher, completed extra credit, and studied harder.
After graduating with my Bachelor's Degree, I could not find a job in my field. I was left to work as a sales associate.
I worked for CPS, which was not what I thought it was going to be. It was some of the most stressful days of my life.
When I could not take CPS anymore, I found my dream job.
Education

Education

highschool
High School
Mount Pleasant High School
undergrad
Bachelor
Psychology
East Texas Baptist University
graduate
Graduate
Counseling Psychology
LeTourneau University
Career

Career

Juvenile Probation Officer

I am the program coordinator working to reduce recidivism rates in juvenile delinquents.

Career Roadmap

Roadmap
My work combines:
My work combines:
Government
Government
Non-Profit Organizations
Non-Profit Organizations
Helping People
Helping People

Day to Day

My typical work day includes putting together programs that will help youth set goals, make better choices, build self esteem, etc... I supervise youth to assist them in making positive changes in their lives. It may involve me doing home-visits, school visits or the child visiting the office in order to discuss their progress or to help them rise above their failures.

Skills & Qualities Beyond School

Compassion is definitely needed. The children I work with have experienced a lot of trauma. They could benefit from unconditional positive regard. Though they need these things, they also need structure and discipline. You can not be judgmental in this line of work and you have to be able to understand that people mess up but they can change.

Advice for Getting Started

Here's the first step for everyone

Know you why! If you understand why you want to do this job and you are passionate, all else will fall into place.

Recommended Education

My career is related to what I studied. I'd recommend the path I took:

undergrad
Bachelor
Psychology
graduate
Graduate
Counseling Psychology
Hurdles

Hurdles

The Noise I Shed

From Peers:

"That I would not be good at what I do because I have never been through what most of these youth have faced and won't be able to relate to them. They said I was too nice and the kids would run all over me."

I told them that it does not matter what I have been through. It is my calling to work with delinquent youth and that God would guide me in situations. I also let them know that you don't have to had walked in another's shoes to empathize with them. I also explained that I faced my own struggles and sufferings and though they may not be equivalent to the children I work with, pain is pain. I am not in my field to share stories of my past, but to help change the future of individuals.

Challenges I Overcame

Single Parent
Single Parent

I had a baby when I was 17 that I raised on my own while in college. It was a great sacrifice but it made me mature quickly and drove me to be successful. Not only for my sake but for the sake of my child.