My road in life has been direct.
Graduated from high school and got a job.
Took college classes part time while working a full time job.
Received an Army ROTC Scholarship while working in a kitchen and restaurant (before & after school).
Graduated college with a degree and a commission as an officer in the Army.
Pursued all educational opportunities provided while in the Army (military and civilian).
Enrolled into the Troops To Teachers Program upon retirement from the Army.
Worked as a Title I School teacher for 3 years in lieu of a school with greater financial rewards.
Used the GI Bill to further my education. Studied Educational Leadership (Ed.D). Graduated in 2011.


Assistant Principal

I monitor the day to day operations of the school with a focus on credit recovery and English Language Learners

Career Roadmap

My work combines:
My work combines:
Non-Profit Organizations
Teaching / Mentoring

Day to Day

I arrive at the school early to open the Credit Recovery Computer Lab. I greet the students in the Credit Recovery Program as they work on classes before normal school starts. I check my email and review the calendar for the day's activities. I greet our teachers as they arrive and work with any guest teachers for the day. I handle graduation counseling and discipline requirements throughout the day. I interview potential students and parents (school has open enrollment) as needed.

Advice for Getting Started

Here's the first step for everyone

Find something you are passionate about and find a mentor in that field who you trust.

Recommended Education

My career is related to what I studied. I'd recommend the path I took:


The Noise I Shed

From Friends:

"Why are you spending the time and money to get another degree when you already have the equivalent of two graduate level degrees. Teachers and educators do not make that much money. You should pick a career field with greater financial rewards. "

Challenges I Overcame